🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Need guidance to deal with abusive client
Page options
ahmad317
Community Member

Need guidance to deal with abusive client

Hi all,

I'm new to upwork and during my first work here, I have come across a very perilous situation.
I need advice from fellow freelancers how they cope with these issues.
I highly appreciate if you read this in your busy routines and guide me

So, my problem is as follows:

I applied for my first job and the client messaged me after few days.

He sent me an editing task and asked whether I can do it.
(It included editing a research proposal of about 3700 words)

After checking, I told him I can do it and clarified with him that the job is to edit the file.

Before accepting, I did sample work for him (first 300 words of the sent file)

He liked my sample work and sent me job offer.

I accepted and completed the work within two days. Before submission, I sent him the final work.

He replied after two days that work was good and now, I need to write a thesis of atleast 30 pages.

I reminded him that my contract only includes editing, he replied that I have to do extra work.

When I refused to do extra, he started pressuring me by making false accusations.

At first, he said that I have not done any editing. I explained to him all the work I had done and even made a 10 page long word file to show all the editing.

He didn't even check the file and replied me the next second "It's not good"

I asked him to atleast check and he replied "I'm not going to pay you 30 dollars for this" "this is crap"

He's using abusive language.

I have already reported to upwork but they have told me to ask upwork community.

He liked my work but when I told him I would only do the work agreed in contract, he suddenly found it to be not good.

Kindly guide me, what am I supposed to do in this situation.

If I submit the work as it is, there's chance that he'll purposedly leave negative feedback in order to tarnish my job.