🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Needing some advice
Page options
dbc529ad
Community Member

Needing some advice

Hello! So, I am fairly new to Upwork. I signed on to Upwork towards the beginning of this year. It took a little while to land my first client (maybe a few weeks) but then I got a client back in March who I am still working with now. 

I have now written seven articles for my client which I am so excited about and have loved working with them. Originally, the job description was only for four articles, but I guess they liked my work because they asked if I would do more articles for them and I said yes. It is my first job on Upwork so I am glad for the experience.

So far, our schedule has been SUPER flexible which I have appreciated because I also teach Chinese kids English online early in the morning and I am a stay-at-home mom so I don't have tons of time to work on this. So far, there have been no deadlines on any articles and the client often takes days or weeks to get back to me after I send in the articles, which hasn't bothered me because of my busy schedule.

However, I plan to quit my English teaching job in October of this year and I need to find something that will replace it or at least come close to it financially. My husband is currently working full time so I could work part-time, I just need something so we can be saving up for grad school for him. While it has been great working with this client and being flexible, it is still my only job I have had on Upwork. I am anxious to see what other jobs are like, what kind of demand or schedule is asked for the jobs and what the pay is like. I need to find out if this can be a reliable full or part-time job with good income but it is hard to know that when I am with the same client. I don't know when we will be done as we haven't discussed how many articles they want from me, I just get more topics and then keep going.