cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Here & Have Major ? PPL Offering Jobs Claiming they pay UpWork

Highlighted
Dana B Member Since: Jul 3, 2017
1 of 11

Folks, I'm new to UpWork and trying to land my first contract. I've been contacted now by two different people for jobs I've applied for. They have offered interviews followed by jobs after chatting on hangouts. What I don't understand is they don't want to pay via UpWork. They usually ask for my financial institution which I answer that I don't have one. Then lastly I was just asked can I cash a money order. I am trying to land a first job but I'm also no dummy and don't want to fall for a scam. Can any of you all please advise? I've posted a link below to one of the sites that supposedly offered me a job. They also want references which I know is standard for other jobs, but I am new to this virtual work world and just am unsure of these practices. Please advise 

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

Highlighted
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 11

Google Hangouts?

These are scammers.

There is no money to be made from them. Stop communicating with them immediately.

Highlighted
Community Guru
3 of 11

re: "Then lastly I was just asked can I cash a money order."

That would always be a scam.

And regardless of whether or not it is a scam (which it is), participating in this in any way is grounds for you having your Upwork account suspended or terminated.

Sometimes freelancers see their accounts suspended just because they were talking about this kind of thing with "clients." Even if they don't go through with it.

Highlighted
Dana B Member Since: Jul 3, 2017
4 of 11

How can I tell the difference when the message me? Just as soon as they message me and ask to go to google hangouts just do what? What should be my next step. I do not want my account locked up I'm just trying to learn a new job. 

Highlighted
Valeria K Moderator Member Since: Mar 6, 2014