🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: New Upworker, scammed. Would really appre...
Page options
aaron_channel
Community Member

New Upworker, scammed. Would really appreciate advice 7/17/19

I am new to Upwork, I was invited to interview for a content creation job by **Edited for Community Guidelines**. Once I responded via messenger he misinformed me as to the manner in which I was supposed to do work on Upwork. (i.e. he expressed that I would be payed once I submitted the work via Upwork messenger without his formally accepting the contract) 

It seemed strange, but he had a number of positive reviews and had spent a reasonable amount of money on Upwork, so I decided to trust him as I assumed his reputation would be worth more than the small job I was doing.

I submitted work to him, via messenger and he cut contact and never payed me.

My messenger logs clearly indicate him scamming me, telling me to do things improperly, thanking me for turning work in on time, and then cutting contact when I asked how I would be payed.

I'm really new here, this was my first job and it has soured me on this site.

Do I have any recourse? If I can't be payed, which seems reasonable since I failed to follow Upwork's procedures for entering into a contract due to **Edited for Community Guidelines**lying to me as to what they were, can I at least submit this messenger log to the admins and have him censured?

Any help would be appreciated, this site seems really legitimate, and I hadn't expected to be scammed right out of the gate.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
wlyonsatl
Community Member

Aaron,