🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: New and in need of help
Page options
kristenkursave
Community Member

New and in need of help

Hello all.

I am new to the Upwork community, and I am trying to get my profile ready to start winning jobs. I was on the site for a while several months back with no success, as all jobs I applied to requested a portfolio, which I do not have yet. Would someone help me out with some tips on how to get things going?

I am new to the field of proofreading and have not had any jobs yet. My resume looks pretty thin. I am unsure of how to sell myself appropriately and effectively. Any advice would be welcome.

13 REPLIES 13
pponso
Community Member

Kristen K wrote:

Hello all.

I am new to the Upwork community, and I am trying to get my profile ready to start winning jobs. I was on the site for a while several months back with no success, as all jobs I applied to requested a portfolio, which I do not have yet. Would someone help me out with some tips on how to get things going?

I am new to the field of proofreading and have not had any jobs yet. My resume looks pretty thin. I am unsure of how to sell myself appropriately and effectively. Any advice would be welcome.

Ok, first of all Welcome to Upwork!

I can't see your profile, as it is not public, so I will answer according to your queries....

First of all, you will have to create a portfolio, it's very easy, you just need to create some, so that client would feel confident while hiring you, it's very easy to create one.

Practice some proofreading work for yourself and showcase it as your porfolio, mention that you have not done this for a client (be honest, honesty always works).

Write a good profile description, give some upwork tests related to your skills...