🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: New and unsure if this is right....
Page options
tammymckinney
Community Member

New and unsure if this is right....

I am new to Upwork and recently landed my first job on the platform. I was thrilled when someone offered me a gig that I don't think I even applied for. He offered me a rate per article that we agreed upon and basically told me to write whatever I wanted once he described the kind of site he was building. I wrote the article and submitted it, but heard nothing back for about a week. When I did, he stated that he didn't care for the topic (though I told him what I was going to write about before I wrote it and he did not object). I wrote a new article. When I submitted it, he said he loved it and it was just what he wanted! He even stated that he would be buying the first article from me at some point. A week later he came back and asked that I add something specific to the end of my article that would link to a product he offers, which I did. He then let the escrow money sit in there for another week or so. It now is in my "earned" column, though I don't know how to get paid yet. Anyway, he went on to ask me to write two more articles but escrowed less than the agreed upon amount. However, since they were to be very short, I agreed. Then, he came back and asked me to to a total re-write of the first article in a different format, with a different focus, etc. Essentially a totally new article. I'm totally confused because he says he is happy when I submit something, then he comes back with new ideas. Now he wants more but again is being totally vague about what he wants. I'm starting to feel like all this time isn't worth the money we agreed upon. And he wants the "re-write" without paying more...