🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » New to Upwork- First Job..Scam?
Page options
64abed3c
Community Member

New to Upwork- First Job..Scam?

Greetings, 

I am new to Up Work. I may have my first project management job here, but I want to ensure I am not getting scammed. The proposal was excepted, and we have been corresponding back and forth on Upwork. Then I was told to contact HR and given their company email. I included their Upwork email and HR email in the correspondence.  HR explained the process. I was told that I would be provided with a company computer. ( Due to being hacked in the past with freelancers).  I was told we would meet on Zoom to review instructions before I was given any assignments or equipment. I got suspicious because I thought that with payment, everything goes through Upwork.
I asked the question: Will payments go through Upwork?
Answer: "Yes, for hours worked on the project, payments will be through our agent on Upwork while we will be processing equipment outside of the platform as the platform only charges from payment of hours worked by a freelancer."
The company is new to UpWork and an actual corporation.  It appears they were verified for payment. HR is asking for my information for an employment letter and contract. Should this go through Upwork?
 I looked up the person I have been corresponding with on LinkedIn and could not find the initial person I spoke with on LinkedIn as well. They do have the company email. Sorry for the long post. This process has been very time-consuming. I know I am overly cautious and do not want to get scammed.   Has anyone been through this process? 

6 REPLIES 6
fe9b8d82
Community Member

Are they sending you this computer and related equipment free and clear, or are they in some way asking for an exchange of money outside of Upwork for "the equipment?"