🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: New to Upwork
Page options
awolfe737
Community Member

New to Upwork

Hello:

I am new to upwork specializing in creative writing, blog writing, and various other topics. I have no experience and no samples other than a blog page where I have written 3 articles. How can I catch the client's attnetion as a newbie? Any help would be great thanks.

8 REPLIES 8
prestonhunter
Community Member

You need to present a compelling portfolio on your profile page.

I think you may be using limited thinking when it comes to your portfolio.

Your portfolio items do not need to be limited to work that you did on Upwork, or work that you were paid for.

If you need to create new portfolio items from scratch to show off your abilities, then go for it!

a_lipsey
Community Member

Austin W wrote:

Hello:

I am new to upwork specializing in creative writing, blog writing, and various other topics. I have no experience and no samples other than a blog page where I have written 3 articles. How can I catch the client's attnetion as a newbie? Any help would be great thanks.

Screenshot the articles and use them in your portofolio, for one. 

bizwriterjohn
Community Member

Austin. 

You are a Drexel man, can get an internship at a Hedge Fund, and have the moxie to be a tax accountant.  There is horsepower inside of you that is special.  Currently, you are displaying yourself as a 3-legged mule.  You are better than this.  Way, way better than this.

Profile: I have seen more effort placed into getting a kegger party organized than I see in your profile.  You are advertising yourself as a writer.  Writers write.  Write a longer profile.  Stop talking so much about how much you love writing and start talking about the business experience you deliver to clients.  On-time, on-budget work.   Perfectly-proofed work.  High-quality content SEO for your blogging work.