🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: New to Upwork
Page options
uchi47
Community Member

New to Upwork

I created my profile 2 years ago. But I got an office based job that's why I haven't used this yet. Can someone help me on how can I get clients? Since I'm new with this, I really don't have any virtual work history in my profile. I am a General Accountant in my current job but due to the pandemic happening across the globe, I want to pursue a home based job and projects.

12 REPLIES 12
lysis10
Community Member

You just posted your full private info on a public forum. You're gonna do great, sweetie.

uchi47
Community Member

I already edited. Thank you so much. Sorry, newbie mistakes. Smiley Very Happy

I'm in the same boat as you. I'm anxious to see what our more experienced co-members reply.

I am a freelance graphic designer with 30 years experience but I only started with this website this month. I've burned through over 300 connects without seeing any positive results. I feel so frustrated that this feels like a slot machine that hasn't paid out yet.

I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I don't know how to break through and get noticed. I'm beginning to think that my proposals aren't even being seen.

Yeah. I don't even know where else can I find virtual jobs. I mean, outside upwork. 

Dyanne M wrote:
Yeah. I don't even know where else can I find virtual jobs. I mean, outside upwork. I only have 54 connects left.

Only?? Lol I'd kill for that many connects.

Yes, because his is 300 connects. Smiley Very Happy

Dyanne M wrote:
Yes. I'm just using my free 80 connects as a start-up given by upwork.

You should not say that out loud. They give 20 connects to newbies now. 

Maybe rewrite your profile - you are not applying to a job, the text would not even be fit for a proposal. 

Thank you, Ma'am for the advise 

Dyanne M wrote:

Who is he and why does he have 300 connects?

Martina P wrote:

Dyanne M wrote:

Who is he and why does he have 300 connects?