Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Upwork!

Highlighted
Glen E Member Since: Mar 11, 2017
1 of 8

Hello,

I am new to Upwork and am struggling to get work? I have a good portfolio, have 10 years experience in web design, I am from the United Kingdom and have a very professional approach to my work.

I have filled in the correct relevant info, ticked the boxes and applied for many jobs, but had no reply!

Where am I going wrong? I more than qualify and can offer most services related to web design, my hourly rate is lower than I would normally charge and I am offering more than I normally would in the real world, so what am I doing wrong?

I hope you can provide more than just take the tests, reduce my hourly rate or juice up my portfolio!

Look forward to your answers.

Glen.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
BEST ANSWER
2 of 8

@Glen E wrote:

Hello,

I am new to Upwork and am struggling to get work? I have a good portfolio, have 10 years experience in web design, I am from the United Kingdom and have a very professional approach to my work.

I have filled in the correct relevant info, ticked the boxes and applied for many jobs, but had no reply!

Where am I going wrong? I more than qualify and can offer most services related to web design, my hourly rate is lower than I would normally charge and I am offering more than I normally would in the real world, so what am I doing wrong?

I hope you can provide more than just take the tests, reduce my hourly rate or juice up my portfolio!

Look forward to your answers.

Glen.

Highlighted brown is what you are doing wrong. Freelancing is different, but it is still the real world. You have to eat, pay the mortgage and taxes. Up the ante and in your proposals prove to your clients that they will get  what they pay for.