🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: New to upwork
Page options
anjnagarg50
Community Member

New to upwork

As i am new to upwork so how can i make my profile in rising talent and how can i get jobs on upwork.

5 REPLIES 5
allpurposewriter
Community Member

First of all, raise your rates.

Look around at other profiles and get an idea what the going rate is for your skill set.

You can also upgrade your membership -- $10 a month. This gets you a paltry 10 extra connects per month. (Pretty lame.) But it allows you to look at what the low, average and high bids are for each job. That might be helpful for a while.

I'm just guessing; I don't know much about what you do (and that's a huge understatment). However, just as a wild guess, I would say your skill set is worth $50 to $100 an hour or something like that.

That really is a wild guess, so don't pay attention if I'm way off. But I am pretty sure that the hourly rate you listed for yourself is way below minimum wage in the United States. If you put that low an hourly rate on your profile people might take it as a lack of confidence.

I raised my rates a long while ago -- and it was an unnerving thing to do. In the end, however, it hasn't scared off too many clients and I've been busy enough not to worry about it. And I can always cut someone a break when I want to.

Anthony H wrote:

That really is a wild guess, so don't pay attention if I'm way off. But I am pretty sure that the hourly rate you listed for yourself is way below minimum wage in the United States. If you put that low an hourly rate on your profile people might take it as a lack of confidence.

She does not live in the US. Freelancers in her part of the world usually charge less than the minimum wage in the US. 

cooper-shaw
Community Member

Hi Anjna,