🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Newbie Questions re Time/Rate
Page options
maryrossi
Community Member

Newbie Questions re Time/Rate

Hi. I have submitted 14 proposals since I joined Upwork 2 weeks ago. I have 30 years' professional writing experience, a good profile with portfolio (I think) but I have not had one interview.

I would really appreciate some feedback on how long this can take - is this somewhat normal or should I reconsider how I'm going about things?

Also, I am at 'expert' level with a rate of $65/hour - is that a good idea without 'Upwork Credibility' or should I lower it for awhile?

Thank you so much for considering my situation!

18 REPLIES 18
prestonhunter
Community Member

Well, you're not "on the playing field." You're not "on the board."

Because you have zero Upwork work history.

That can hurt in your attempts to get hired.

It really helps to show some Upwork history.

One thing many new freelancers to is work on some FIXED-PRICE contracts first.

Because those do not display an hourly rate.

You can effectively lower your rate as much as you want with a fixed-price contract, without having the job be associated with a low hourly rate. Because only the total dollar amount will appear.

Thanks Preston. Don't I still compete with established Upwork pros that way though?

re: "Don't I still compete with established Upwork pros that way though?"

This is an idea for getting some Upwork history while being more flexible about who you are competing with. It is possible for you to target a wider range of potential clients, if you have the flexibility to work for clients in more price ranges. You might work for a client who would not normally pay $65 per hour, but would be willing to pay $50 for "Project X."