🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Newbie challenges
Page options
b-ellen
Community Member

Newbie challenges

Hello everybody,

I joined upwork by the end of last week and spent the last days building my portfolio and writing proposals to 6 potential clients. I put a lot of time and effort in it and now I'm quite discouraged for several reasons:

1. Clients do not reply

Not one of the six I sent proposals to replied. I do understand they don't have to by terms and conditions but this is simply disrespectful and not inspiring positive relations. There should be at least a button clients are required to click within one or two days that signals 'I have received your proposal. Thanks I will get back to you.'

2. Preferred qualifications

I've sent proposals to different kinds of jobs with varying 'preferred qualifications' which I don't match all alike because as a newbie I cannot meet expectations like 'Job Success Score: At least 80%' and 'Earnings: 1000+'? I don't know how your algorithm works but this is simply not intelligent since it excludes well-educated people with lots of experience before hand. Judging from my experience I don't think potential clients even read proposals not matching their specifications by 100%.

So what can I do to attract clients? Cutting the price to get my foot in the door, for 5 bucks or less per hour, competiting with people from Asia? Sorry, I've worked hard for my education, I still further educate myself and do a very good job and this has to be compensated.  If you want to make money out of my work (and your fees are not modest) you will have to do something about it or I'm gone. How about – for example – dropping connects for newbies until they've completed their first job on upwork? I'd consider this a first step in the right direction to encourage me an others in the same situation to keep on going.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
louisaj
Community Member