🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Newbie getting a bit frustrated
Page options
lenakov
Community Member

Newbie getting a bit frustrated

Hi everyone. I am a newbie here on Upwork and since I decided to focus on getting my first job I wanted to ask more experienced members for a piece of advice. I have already read a lot about what it takes to get your first job - taking tests to show my expertise in my field, completing my profile, adding materials to my portfolio and so on.. While searching for jobs, I often find that even for entry level jobs it is required to have at least one hour worked on Upwork. I find it frustrating, because it has happened more than once that I read the job description, I see that I am a good fit for the position and then that red exclamation point next to ''Upwork hours'' makes me want to cry, because I have offline experience, but can't apply for any jobs here..

My question is, do you recommend applying for the job anyway, even if I don't meet all the qualifications? And if not, what should I do? 

Thanks in advance,

Milena

6 REPLIES 6
cylver1z
Community Member

Hello Milena,

If you feel that you are capable of doing the task, you may submit your proposal even though you don't meet this qualification. Thank you and good luck!

Untitled
jojomo
Community Member

Hi Milena,

I just checked out your upwork profile and if I may give you some advice this is what I would suggest; You need to spend a little more time sprucing up your profile. You should include more than a couple sentences in your overview and you definitely need to take some more tests to show off your skills. You should also include pieces that you've worked on in the portfolio section of your profile (you can also include a link or attach files of relevant work when applying for a job).