🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Newbies questions
Page options
fd5fbe3f
Community Member

Newbies questions

Hi! I'm new to freelance. I've just registered in upwork. So i have a lot of questions and don't even expect that will win proposal soon. It is difficult for me to objectively estimate my portfolio. I would like to hear someone else's opinion about it. And maybe someone will give tips on how to start earning faster
4 REPLIES 4
robin_hyman
Community Member

What are your questions?

As for your profile, a few recommendations:

* Remove "hi"

* Change some of your paragraphs so they don't all start with "I"

* Review Top Rated freelancer profiles in your field and compare with yours.  Remember not to copy as you will be suspended

* The first two lines in your profile are what shows up in search so make sure they stick out

* Customize every proposal

JoanneP

bizwriterjohn
Community Member

Proposal: 

In summary, I recommend you build your proposal with content blocks you can pick-and-chose as a foundation for the response.

I use what are called the WH questions.  Who, what, when, why, how.

WHO
Build a paragraph that introduces yourself in 40 words or less.

WHAT
Build another paragraph that summarizes your services.  Same as above.  40 words or less

HOW
Not alway used, but in essence, describe your business and creative processes for doing the work.  "Let the client see how you will do it".

Then proof these paragraph building blocks to the nth degree.  Make sure they are perfect.

- - -

Then with those three components, you can add in a couple customized paragraphs. 

- I find it particularly valuable to pick out something the prospective client references in their paragraph and then respond to this with definitive statements.  In your response, start with something like "In your job summary, you indicated... ZYX. "
The responses can be then be along the lines of....
- "My approach to this:
- "This engages my skill sets in these ways"