Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nightmare Client, Endless Revisions

Highlighted
Loraine Y Member Since: Jan 12, 2017
1 of 29

Hey all,

I'm still fairly new to Upwork, only 2 months on here but have been building some great reviews. I currently have one client who is making me make hundreds of revisions, and most of them are becuase she forgot to mention important details before I got started. The flat rate I agreed to makes me cry when I think about how many hours I've spent on it (I'll end up making maybe $1/hr if this ever gets wrapped up.)

I really want out of this job. It's 70% complete but could go on for the rest of the year. I don't even care about being paid anymore, but I don't want to get a bad review. There probably isn't a way out of this situation that will spare me a negative review, is there? I'm pretty sure if I put my foot down on the revisions, she'll give me a bad review. It's a personal passion project of hers, so it has to be absolutely perfect but she's not paying me enough for all the work I'm doing. I've definitely learned a lot about what jobs/clients to accept, so at least there's that. Any suggestions or commiseration would be appreciated! Thanks.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Valentina D Member Since: Aug 27, 2016
BEST ANSWER
2 of 29

Hi Loraine,

You can give her full refund - that way, the whole contract would completely disappear from your profile. However, you would lose your Rising Talent badge immediately and your first JSS would be <90. That's what happened to me when I did the same thing. I managed to recover quickly, thanks to my long-term clients, but the whole experience was so disturbing... I'd recommend you to do your best and finish this project successfully - that would be less painful than fixing your JSS afterwards.  

View solution in original post

Highlighted
3 of 29