🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: No Contract
Page options
lindsey_moss
Community Member

No Contract

Hi, I am very new to UpWork and got my first job last week. However, I did not understand how the contracts work and that there was as downloadable app that I needed to work through. My client never sent me a contract, just uploaded the file with his resume to edit into our messaging stream and told me what he needed. We agreed it would take about one hour of work to finish. I completed the work, but not through the app, just uploaded the file back to the messaging app. I have not heard from the client since uploading the file, not even an acknowledgement of receipt, and it appears he has not been online in some time. Am I just out of luck on this one since there technically was no contract in place, or do I have some recourse for the work I completed? The work was accomplished within the agreed upon hour.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
mwiggenhorn
Community Member

Without a contract offered by the client and accepted by you, you're out of luck.  Please learn how Upwork actually works before you make an even worse mistake.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
mwiggenhorn
Community Member

Without a contract offered by the client and accepted by you, you're out of luck.  Please learn how Upwork actually works before you make an even worse mistake.

Also, be sure to download the Time Tracker right now so you'll be ready the next time.

You are right, I should have made sure I was knowledgable about the process before diving in. I will be wiser in the future. I appreciate you answering my question, Mary. 

AveryO
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Lindsey,