🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » No client feedback after so many submitted pr...
Page options
uppiesman
Community Member

No client feedback after so many submitted proposals (NEW TO UPWORK)

Hello Freelancers,
I am a new upwork user trying so hard to get a job offer or an interview at the very least but that has never happened.
I am an editor and a writer. I submit proposals only for jobs that match my skill set. My proposals always include: a greeting, a show of qualification and an assurance of quick job completion. I also include work samples related to that specific job and make sure I bid much much lower than the clients' budget.
I have done a thorough research on this platform, but it hasn't helped so much.
Could there be something wrong with my profile?
Could there be something I am doing wrong?
Please, I am open to suggestions.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Damilola!

A few recommendations based on your profile:

* Don't announce you are new to Upwork.  That screams novice.

* $5 an hour is not going to get you quality work or clients.  Perhaps start with $10/hour?

* Remove most of the exclaimation marks.  Again it screams you're young and inexperienced

* Try not to start every paragraph with "I"

Now a few comments about your proposals:

* Again with the "I's"....

* Experienced proofreader/editors don't charge $5/hour...

* We don't refer to Word, Excel and PowerPoint as "packages" but part of the Microsoft Suite

* Your proposals should focus on your experience (not just saying you are experienced) and what you bring to the table compared to thousands of other freelancers who can do the same job.  

* Anyone can make promises.  Show with actual client feedback and examples

* Remove the unnecessary language: thank you for reading my proposal, thank your for your time, etc. 

To compare, here is a snippit of my proposal in response to a job requesting a website copywriter in the health space: