🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » No hires after second job
Page options
ivanawho
Community Member

No hires after second job

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to Upwork. I've sent proposals out in the last month and have had 4 responses and 2 hires. The first week was buzzing. I was hired twice after just 4 days of sending out maybe 3 proposals a day. Since then dead silence.

A few things to note:
1. My proposals are individually tailored.
2. I provide relevant portfolio samples either in the cover letter or I send a link.
3. I talk about how the client will benefit from my services.

To me, I'm doing everything right but I'm just not getting any nibbles so I don't know what to improve on.

Can anyone help me out? How do I get out of this rut? Has anyone else had issues with this?
ACCEPTED SOLUTION
allenwatson23
Community Member

Hey Ivana!

It sounds like you are going a good job with the proposals. Don't worry too much about not getting too many jobs. We all hit dry spells. Since you are new, it is a bit harder because you don't have a great deal of feedback for clients to look at, but keep trying. 

Your profile looks pretty good, but I would hide the visibility on the test you just passed. Unless I pass something in the top 10 or 30 percent, I don't have it visible.

Do your best with proposals and make sure your work is exemplary when you get it. Before you know it, you'll have more jobs!

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
g_vasilevski
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Hi Ivana,

Please expand your profile overview and clearly describe your skills and experience. Make sure your overview, title, name, certifications, employment and education history sections do not have spelling, punctuation and grammatical errors, and the words are capitalized where appropriate.
Please read the Getting Started as a Freelancer section of the Help Center and complete your profile.

~ Goran
Upwork

Thank you! I'll check for any errors and expand where necessary.