🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: No one is hiring me?
Page options
marmargeldi
Community Member

No one is hiring me?

Hello everyone!,
I’m new to upwirk, so I’m still feeling around and trying to get used to the new environment. I’ve been apart of UpWork for a few weeks now: applied to jobs I’d qualify for and haven’t had any feedback or just didn’t get the job. What should I do? I really want to pursue art as a career, and I got very excited to be apart of the freelancing community. I only have 2 connects and have no clue how to get more, so that concerns me.
Also are my hourly rates too high? It doesn’t take me too long to make pieces, so I wasn’t concerned at first - but now I’m starting to believe it’s driving people away.
7 REPLIES 7
petra_r
Community Member

Maria G wrote:
What should I do?

How old are you?

I don't think your hourly rate has anything to do with it, it's likely more your inexperience and the fact that your profile overview is all about you and what you like, rather than about how hiring you would be of any benefit to a client.

As far as connects are concerned, if you have run out you have to buy some.

Ah alright! I’ll update my summary then. 🙂
And I’m 18, I have experience in the fields I wish to work for as in actually doing in and of what work I can provide. However I don’t have any professional work experience in them besides my own accord!

Maria G wrote:

And I’m 18, I have experience in the fields I wish to work for as in actually doing in and of what work I can provide. 

What projects ARE you qualified to do, exactly? I couldn't figure it out from reading your profile, and you've got hardly anything in your portfolio, so that doesn't help, either. And yes, since you haven't yet graduated high school and you have no work experience, I'd say that charging $30/hour is pretty optimistic.