🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Non-communicative client
Page options
adelina-bonca
Community Member

Non-communicative client

Hello all!

I am new to upwork and I've recently obtained my first job on this platform. I have to design 10 marketing template flyers for real estate which would be later used by my client's employees to edit. He provided me some examples, but he said that they shouldn't be exactly the same. The job seemed pretty easy at first so I accepted to do this for 25$, especially since being this my first job, I thought it was a good start. My mistake was that I accepted the job before making sure that I had all the details I needed. I should have figured out that something was not right because he first wrote to me after 13 days since he posted the job and when we had the first discussion on Skype he just left me there with an unanswered question (related to what colors he wanted me to use for the flyers) and then wrote me the next day that he hired me on Upwork. Anyway, I didn't want to lose time so I started working and sent screenshots with my progress. Everytime he told me that he wanted to make something different, I did without complaining. Until he told me that I need to fill the templates with text. I agreed with that but I said that I need him to provide me the text in a document from where I can copy it. His response was that I have to use the examples that he provided. First of all, those examples are from another website that he doesn't own and I don't think this is ethical and second, I would have to write the text myself, be always in the "Alt-Tab" mode and squint my eyes to try to decipher what is written there (even though I zoom in a lot my screen, at some point it all becomes blurry). I wrote to him that I appologize but my understanding of making templates is totally different (I applyed for design, not content writing) and I asked him if, anyway, it would be possible for him to send me the file with the text he wants. And he just