Don't see your topic? Ask a question
Top Solution Authors
User Accepted Solutions Count
Top Kudoed Members
Featured Contributor

On Upwork for Months and Still Can't Land a Client (Creative)

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Highlighted
Power Member
13 Posts

On Upwork for Months and Still Can't Land a Client (Creative)

I guess I'm not technically "new", because I've been on Upwork for a few months now and have submitted well over 100 proposals at this point. Honestly, I find it easier to get full-time W2 job offers (and I work in the competitive creative field). 

I've done my research and followed all of the advice. I personalize every single proposal and even offer tips about how I might tackle a project. My profile is 100% complete and has been for awhile. I've uploaded examples of my portfolio. I've lowered my hourly rate to be more competitive - many times. I've got over a decade of experience in video production, graphic design, and content management with successful results (which I've shared) 

Still, the most I've gotten is a few interviews that end up going nowhere. One client wanted to hire me, but then disappeared. 

The only thing I can think of is every client wants a reputation score of at least 90% and so many hours worked. But it doesn't seem like anyone is willing to give us newbies a chance, even with a well-targeted proposal and a complete profile with work to show. 

So, if anyone is willing to look at my profile and give me advice - I'm all ears. There may be something I'm missing or something I can do better. How long did it take you to land your first client? What seemed to work for you? 

Ace Contributor
26 Posts

Re: On Upwork for Months and Still Can't Land a Client (Creative)

The only advice I can give is to just keep at it.