cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

On the spot writing sample?

Tanya G Member Since: Oct 26, 2016
1 of 6

I am new to Upwork, and having trouble landing my first assignment, as many clients want someone with at least 100 hours here already. I found someone willing to hire "newbies," though he wouldn't communicate much unless I added him via Skype. I did, and we were IMing and he gave me a writing sample assignment. I said I could have to him within a day, and he asked "why not now."

Is this common here? I've never had a client ask for something on the spot. Most understand that freelancers have other work and assignments in progress at any time.

Also, any advice for getting started here? It seems nearly impossible for someone new to Upwork to meet the requirements that many clients have. 

Thanks in advance for your help!

Community Guru
Rene K Member Since: Jul 10, 2014
2 of 6

@Tanya G wrote:

I did, and we were IMing and he gave me a writing sample assignment. I said I could have to him within a day, and he asked "why not now."

Is this common here?

Very common. Those people commonly target newbies desperate for their first job enough to provide them with free work.

They want it on the spot so you don't have a chance to put some thinking into it and coming here for advice, and be told that this is basically a scam.

This is why they want to act fast.

-----------
"Where darkness shines like dazzling light"   —William Ashbless
Community Guru
Rene K Member Since: Jul 10, 2014
3 of 6

@Tanya G wrote:

Also, any advice for getting started here?

You mean this? Getting Started on Upwork

-----------
"Where darkness shines like dazzling light"   —William Ashbless
Vladimir G Moderator Member Since: Oct 31, 2014
4 of 6

Hi Tanya,