🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Opt-Out Fee
Page options
leighmardovich
Community Member

Opt-Out Fee

Hello!

I am very new to Upwork (as a freelancer), and I am curious about the Opt-Out fee. Do I have to receive proof from a client that they have paid this? I don't want to violate Upwork's Terms and Conditions, but a client told me that they paid the fee, and how can I verify this before proceeding with the position? 

Thanks for any help!

19 REPLIES 19
petra_r
Community Member

Leigh M wrote:

I am very new to Upwork (as a freelancer), and I am curious about the Opt-Out fee. Do I have to receive proof from a client that they have paid this? I don't want to violate Upwork's Terms and Conditions, but a client told me that they paid the fee, and how can I verify this before proceeding with the position? 

The client is a scammer and wants to send you a fake check which will leave you out thousands of Dollars, possibly with a closed bank account. 

There is no job. It's the ancient fake check scam. (Most likely, but there are a few more that work along the same lines)

If you check, you will see that the client does not have a verified payment method (and hence could not have paid Upwork anything)

How can you be sure about this though? Upwork does state in their user agreement that people can pay an opt-out fee? 

Leigh M wrote:

How can you be sure about this though? Upwork does state in their user agreement that people can pay an opt-out fee? 

Let's take a look...

On the client's job post, does it show the client as having a verified payment method?

Have you seen how much the opt out fee is? Do you REALLY think any genuine client would pay $ 3500 +++ to Upwork to opt out a proofreader with no experience and whose work they have never seen, whom they have never tried and who has no track record? What sense would that make? 

Were you told that a check would be sent to buy a home office / Apple Macbook etc? (If not, you will be)