🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Opt Out Fee?
Page options
b3f77697
Community Member

Opt Out Fee?

I submitted a proposal and received a message within an hour. I exchanged a few messages with the person who then instructed to me to continue the conversation on Skype with their head of department. This already started to seem like a red flag to me. They said the company is called Zinnia. 

I just joined Upwork today, so I am still learning what normal requests look like. After messaging the head of department, he responded saying "The charge will be bi-weekly and we will not pay via Upwork because we have paid them the opt out fee.
The explanation is we're actually shifting the job to an extended commitment and trying to offer a long term deal as an independent contractor. We will make you work remotely and still do some other freelance work if you're available at your defined hours of work."

This did not seem right to me, but was not sure if this is a legitimate way of being paid?

2 REPLIES 2
a_lipsey
Community Member

Graciela S wrote:

I submitted a proposal and received a message within an hour. I exchanged a few messages with the person who then instructed to me to continue the conversation on Skype with their head of department. This already started to seem like a red flag to me. They said the company is called Zinnia. 

I just joined Upwork today, so I am still learning what normal requests look like. After messaging the head of department, he responded saying "The charge will be bi-weekly and we will not pay via Upwork because we have paid them the opt out fee.
The explanation is we're actually shifting the job to an extended commitment and trying to offer a long term deal as an independent contractor. We will make you work remotely and still do some other freelance work if you're available at your defined hours of work."

This did not seem right to me, but was not sure if this is a legitimate way of being paid?