🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Paid test drive should have contract too?
Page options
fizza-maqsood
Community Member

Paid test drive should have contract too?

Kindly answer only authorize person of Upwork

My client assigned me a test article but not along with contract so should I deliver him?

I have asked him, is it a paid test drive? He said yes, however pay in the next article. 

He assigned me a test article of 500 words without sending any contract so should I deliver him? is it OK? 

Note: I am new to Upwork

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

re: "Oh My God, I have sent the article what should I do now? How could I delete the file from his access."

There is no reason to be distressed. You sent him one article. It's not that big a deal. You didn't write a whole novel for him. You spent a relatively small amount of time and you learned a lesson.

Can you "delete the file from his access"?

No.

But you are the rightful owner of the article. So go ahead and use it as an item in your portfolio.

Stop communicating with that client.

Don't try to get paid for that work.

Feel free to report the client if you want to, although you are not obligated to.

You are not going to get in trouble from Upwork or anybody else for this.

The important thing is that you learned from your mistake and won't do this kind of thing again.

Clients are welcome to ask freelancers to do test work, as long as they pay the freelancers.

There is no such thing as "paying" you by "paying you next time."

You have never gone to a restaurant and heard a waitress tell you:

"Oh, that's all right, you only ordered one pie. You can just pay for it when you come in next time, for a full meal."

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
petra_r
Community Member

This is a user forum so everyone is "authorized" to comment.

@Fizza M wrote:

My client assigned me a test article but not along with contract so should I deliver him?