🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Pay Rates and Proposals
Page options
michaelnewmex
Community Member

Pay Rates and Proposals

Apologies if this has previously been asked/answered. I've looked but haven't found info. I'm new to Upwork and Freelance stuff. I'm seeing some jobs I'd like to send proposals to but their pay range in some cases is quite a bit higher than what I have set in my profile. My reasoning being with little experience here, a lower rate might help me get some starter/experience jobs so I can hopefully get better rates moving forward.

So how do people handle that situation when you're bidding for work that would pay higher than your posted rate in your profile? Hope that makes sense.

Thanks for any feedback or insights.

-Mike

2 REPLIES 2
martina_plaschka
Community Member

John D wrote:

Apologies if this has previously been asked/answered. I've looked but haven't found info. I'm new to Upwork and Freelance stuff. I'm seeing some jobs I'd like to send proposals to but their pay range in some cases is quite a bit higher than what I have set in my profile. My reasoning being with little experience here, a lower rate might help me get some starter/experience jobs so I can hopefully get better rates moving forward.

So how do people handle that situation when you're bidding for work that would pay higher than your posted rate in your profile? Hope that makes sense.

Thanks for any feedback or insights.

-Mike

Your rate is your rate. Don't charge more, don't charge less. 

Your profile is a little unusual, it sounds, forgive me for saying, a bit juvenile. Mostly you talk about your mother. That could be charming if it were part of a well-crafted overview, but it isn't. It's also confusing that your name doesn't match your profile name. Fix all of these issues. 

Martina,