cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Payment of software and tracking device

Lynda Eunice D Member Since: Jan 4, 2017
1 of 8

Hi  I was offered a job by a health insurance company after the interview.  I was told that I had to pay $212 for 5 different software  which I thought rather strange.  As an accountant I work with only one software with different modules.  I was assured that this was the only cost.  Later on I was informed that I had to pay an additional $600 plus for tracking software which I could not afford and lost my money..  Is it normal for free lancers to bear these costs to get started

Community Guru
Kathryn B Member Since: Jul 22, 2015
BEST ANSWER
2 of 8

No, this is most certainly not normal.  It is also against UpWork's ToS, so I would suggest that you go back and report the job post.  This kind of scam is pretty prevalent in recent weeks.

~I am only here when I can tolerate having my eyes blasted, my privacy treated like a joke, and my temper pushed to it's limit. For all other times, please request alternate contact methods~
Lynda Eunice D Member Since: Jan 4, 2017
3 of 8

Who do I report this scam to?  I also had a second experience from **Edited for Community Guidelines** along the same terms.  I had to forego this job based on my first experience and refused to pay the money.  What I find common with these persons is that they say the money must be paid via western union or money gram.  This is a red flag for me.  In my opinion if an employer is engaging an employee, they should provide the necessary tools to get the work done.  How do I know who is genuine or not?

Community Guru
Christy A Member Since: Dec 30, 2015
4 of 8

A huge red flag is being offered, and accepting payment off the Upwork platform.  This puts you at significant financial risk and it's against Upwork's rules, as well.