🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Permissions to freelance in Singapore
Page options
shilpa_lakkaniki
Community Member

Permissions to freelance in Singapore

Hi there!

Greetings! 

I am Shilpa, an author, and blogger. I am new to Upwork and am currently living in Singapore on a dependent pass. My husband works out of Singapore on a long-term work pass. I look forward to being able to freelance on Upwork. I would like to know answers to a few of my queries: 

1. If I will need any kind of permission from the Ministry of Manpower in Singapore like an employment pass, letter of consent, or any type of pass to be able to freelance.

2. How do I claim my earnings on Upwork? Will I need a pay pal account? Should I open a local bank account in Singapore? 

3. What is the procedure to pay taxes if I am required to pay taxes to Singapore or India. I am a citizen of India. 

Any help would be much appreciated. 

Regards, 

Shilpa.  

11 REPLIES 11
michael_skaggs
Community Member

All of your questions are best answered by contacting a licensed attorney and an accountant who is local to you in Singapore, rather than by random people on the internet.

Thank you so much. I have contacted an attorney and will get to know the procedure soon. Thank you for the prompt guidance.

PradeepH

Hello Shilpa,

Thank you for your message. You will need to ensure you have the correct work visa to be able to work as an online professional in your country. Funds can be withdrawn through Paypal or Bank account. You will need to check with an accountant or government website on your country's tax laws.

Thank you

Pradeep H.

Upwork

Hello Pradeep, 

I got in touch with the ministry here and I am yet to get confirmation on the visa required. However, I am going to consult an attorney soon to get some clarity. Thank you for the other details. I have figured out the site where I can get all details about the tax laws here. Looking forward to starting work on Upwork ASAP.