🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Possible Scam - How to avoid?
Page options
8fc783d3
Community Member

Possible Scam - How to avoid?

I'm new to Upwork so, I'm still trying to understand how all these things work. I applied for a few positions online here - some specifically being virtual assistant positions. I got an email back from a client about setting up a Skype meeting. When I did, I had to answer a series of questions. They looked over it and told me I received the position. The position online stated $25 an hour, and the person I was speaking to on Skype said $30 no biggie, whatever. The representative stated that I needed to provide my name, address, phone number, and email address so HR can draft me up an employment letter. When I mentioned this conversation should be on Upwork (with my information especially), the response wasn't as quick as prior. I sent three messages and never got a reply back.

Has that ever happened to anybody? Any tips on how to avoid situations like these. 

3 REPLIES 3
AndreaG

Hi Sara,

We find that when users communicate outside of Upwork there is an increased risk of fraud, scam, and other harmful behaviors. When communications (and work) stay on our platform we can better track, verify, and help address any issues that emerge, and as a result the potential for these behaviors to cause harm decreases dramatically. For example, the vast majority of scammers that successfully take advantage of talent do so by going off the platform. To learn more about staying safe on Upwork, click here.

~Andrea
Upwork
wescowley
Community Member

Sara F wrote: