Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible phishing

amanda-mess
Amanda M Member Since: Nov 21, 2016
1 of 8

Hello.

I am new to upwork and have completed 1 job so far. I received an interview request from this company

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

. I have reached out to them on hangouts as requested. My question is has anyone dealt with them previously? They are sending a few red flags, and I am not sure if I should proceed.

Thank you for your help

sam-sly
Community Guru
Samantha S Member Since: Jun 23, 2016
BEST ANSWER
2 of 8

Did you just complete the job today? I don't see any jobs on your profile though I know it often takes about a day for them to show on your profile.  

I don't know anything about the business or client you mention. But a lot of scammers use other business names and even the names of real employees at that company. Your area of work is especially attractive to scammers. Newbie Upworkers are also attractive to scammers. I have yet to hear of a legitimate client who interviews via Google Hangouts either. I suspect this is a scam, but I don't really know enough to say for sure.

Keep in mind that real business people do not have hours to spend on a freelancer interview. Some of the scammers will text chat for hours. Also, any payment should happen through Upwork. Doing otherwise can get you banned from Upwork for circumvention (best case outcome). The worst case outcomes are that you may never get paid (very common) or you might even lose money through phishing. Also, the client does not need your personal financial details or a W9 if they are paying through Upwork. Finally, a legitimate client will not send you a check to cover software, equipment, etc. The check thing is the most common scam.

If you are seeing red flags, the best thing to do is report the "client" so the job can be removed and end contact with them.

View solution in original post

amanda-mess
3 of 8