🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Potential employer is asking for a scan of my...
Page options
pskenny
Community Member

Potential employer is asking for a scan of my diploma and transcript

Hello,

I am new to Upwork and just received a message from someone wanting me to apply for a job they have helping them with editing their research. We went into a chat and they asked my education and then asked me to send them a copy of my diploma and transcript. When I click on their profile I get no other information other than their name and a photo. 

It seems like information on my transcript is sensitive and could open me up to identity theft. I would feel more comfortable with someone who has hired clients successfully on here before.

Does anybody have any advice on how to handle this and if this request is normal?

I don't want to turn off a potential job but want to be safe.

Thanks!

5 REPLIES 5
yitwail
Community Member

Pamela, how about blurring all sensitive parts of the transcript? No one's ever asked me for this, but seems to me there are easier ways to accomplish identity theft, so I don't think the request by itself is cause for suspicion.

Okay, thanks! Is there a way I can see the employer's profile on Upwork? Anywhere I click the only thing I can see is name, photo & country (not US). Should I be wary since this is potentially my first job on here? 

BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Pamela,

Please, make sure you don't share any private information directly with clients on Upwork. All the information needed to hire and pay you via Upwork is available on your profile.

When working on Upwork, please make sure that you have a contract with a client before doing any work. Ensure that they have a verified billing method so that the work you do can be covered by Upwork Payment Protection.

Please, check this post for more tips on how to avoid questionable jobs.