cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Profile rejection

Jen H Member Since: Jul 28, 2015
1 of 36

I am absolutely flabbergasted that profiles are being rejected because there's TOO many people?

Are you kidding me?

I'm trying to direct friends and family to this site for freelance work -- THUS -- making Upwork a whole lot more money and they are being rejected.

Why is Upwork doing this? Yes, I saw the email as to 'why' -- but this makes absolutely no sense.

I've had friends invest money buying laptops and programs and training to prepare for this -- why even allow someone to start a profile if they are going to be rejected like this?

I've been using elance & odesk (Upwork) for years (like 15+ years) and it's going down hill so fast.

What gives?!!!

Community Guru
Scott E Member Since: Jul 26, 2015
2 of 36

Jen H wrote:

making Upwork a whole lot more money

What makes you think that? Have you thought that through?

"why even allow someone to start a profile if they are going to be rejected like this?"

Because it's the content of the profile the person creates that determines whether they get accepted or not. If lots of buyers are looking for particle physicists, there aren't many particle physicists here, and you have three related doctorates and 40 years experience... then you're in the door. If you're a writer with three months experience of writing erotic fiction then it's less likely. 

I'm sorry, but I'm flabbergasted that people bought laptops, programs and conducted training for a site that they hadn't even been approved to work on yet. 

"Welcome, humans. I'm ready for you!"
- Box, Logan's Run (1976)
3 of 36

Look -- I've been using these sites for years as a highly successful freelancer -- probably longer than you have.

Really, so people shouldn't come prepared in advance to starting to work? Really, that's your thought here?