🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Proposal Cover Letter for a Novice Instructio...
Page options
jacksonjaneen
Community Member

Proposal Cover Letter for a Novice Instructional Designer

Hello,

I am new to Upwork. I saw a job that I am interested in. Could someone be nice enough to critique my proposal cover letter?

Thank You,

Janeen

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
mystudiomke
Community Member

Hi Janeen,

One item I have learned is always putting yourself in the client position. Review it as if you were the one making decision. Will you hire someone who is new to upwork when there is hundreds of other freelancers with the same skills and recommendations? Because you’re new you have to go in the route of showing relevant experience and portfolio. Keep it short and emphasize how you can best help them with their project. Don’t say your new to Upwork or have done 'unpaid' jobs – they can already see that in your profile. Rely on your best skills and highlight those to match the job you’re applying for. 

I did a quick re-write of your proposal. I am no writer by any means but again I try to view it in the lens of a client. Hope that helps!

Good evening,

I see that you’re looking for assistance with your project "x" and I am interested on how I can further assist. My name is Janeen Jackson and I graduated with my Master of Education in Adult Education & Training.

I am experienced in designing courses such as Adobe Captivate courses for LinkedIn and Train the Trainer course in Google Classroom with a sample quizzes, similar to your job posting. You can view my portfolio at **edited for Community Guidelines**

Please feel free to let me know if you have any questions. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Best Regards,

Janeen C. Jackson

Lila

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
mystudiomke
Community Member

Hi Janeen,