🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Proposal questions: milestone section and...
Page options
mrsslong
Community Member

Proposal questions: milestone section and email requests

Hey all! I'm new to Upwork and I hope this is the correct place to post my questions. I am new to submitting proposals here, and I have a proposal that I'd like to learn from. I got an unexpected response today from my very first proposal..  I submitted a proposal for a writing contract. The employer gave his hourly rate and an estimated sum for the entire project. I thought we had to fill out the how we want to be paid section, so I put it in as a milestone payment and put in the hourly rate the employer had mentioned. Where it asked how you'd like to be paid, I wrote I'd like to be paid the hourly rate the employer suggested ($XX) -and weekly if convenient. Today I got an offer from the employer for an interview. The employer asked me to click on his company calendar to make an appointment. The calendar was off Upwork. I wrote a reply in Upwork's messenger. Basically, I thanked him and said I was very interested and would love to interview for the position. But, being new to Upwork and having read Upwork's terms, I was uncomfortable sharing contact information before we had a contract. I asked him if we could use Upwork's platform to set an appointment and interview. He wrote back that the calendar was the way he always scheduled interviews and he was concerned I brought up $ before an interview and mentioned how I wanted to be paid (he was referencing the milestone form). These two things made him wonder if I would be a good fit for the job. I obviously mis-communicated. I'm still trying to process what I did wrong and how to proceed.  My questions:  1. Are we supposed to fill out the pay section of the form when we submit a proposal- or should we leave that until after the contract? 2. If we have to fill out that section-How should I have filled out the milestone? 3. Was I wrong to be conc