🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Questions About the Process
Page options
530dc20c
Community Member

Questions About the Process

Hello,

I'm new to Upwork and would like some information regarding steps that are taken if a client isn't pleased with the work of the freelancer. If I'm ultimately not happy with their work and wish to terminate the contract, what happens to the funds that are in escrow? Am I charged a fee for terminating the contract and who do I notify if I wish to terminate the contract? I couldn't find the answers to these questions in the terms and conditions so if anyone can shed a little light, it would be greatly appreciated.

Alex A

9 REPLIES 9
alexis-arinze
Community Member

Alex A wrote:

Hello,

I'm new to Upwork and would like some information regarding steps that are taken if a client isn't pleased with the work of the freelancer. If I'm ultimately not happy with their work and wish to terminate the contract, what happens to the funds that are in escrow? Am I charged a fee for terminating the contract and who do I notify if I wish to terminate the contract? I couldn't find the answers to these questions in the terms and conditions so if anyone can shed a little light, it would be greatly appreciated.

Alex A

I believe, on your end, you should be able to request a return of funds. The freelancer has to then approve this reuqest. If they believe they should get paid for the work they did, they have the right to dispute it. 

prestonhunter
Community Member

Alex, as a client, you may end a contract (or terminate a contract) at any time.

You do not need to justify or explain your reasons for wanting to terminate a contract. You can just do it. If you don't like the work done by a freelancer then you SHOULD stop working with the freelancer.