🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Quick question about the Upwork hiring pr...
Page options
enkiernan
Community Member

Quick question about the Upwork hiring process

Hi. I'm new to freelancing on Upwork and I've received a response that I'm not sure is normal. Is it normal for Upwork recruiters to use third party tools to monitor work? The person that contacted me expressed that they had the fee usually charged for hiring waived. Thus, they're using another tool to count the hours worked. I'm fine with doing so, but I'd like to know if this is something typical or if I'm not being careful enough. 

2 REPLIES 2
JoanneP

Hi Emily,

You might want to discuss this with your client so that you can discuss using another tool. I'd like to let you know that once you use a different tool other than the Upwork Time Tracker App to log your hours, it is not covered by Upwork payment protection. To learn more about this, please check the following: 

Fixed-Price Protection 

Hourly Protection

~ Joanne
Upwork
feed_my_eyes
Community Member

Emily K wrote:

Hi. I'm new to freelancing on Upwork and I've received a response that I'm not sure is normal. Is it normal for Upwork recruiters to use third party tools to monitor work? The person that contacted me expressed that they had the fee usually charged for hiring waived. Thus, they're using another tool to count the hours worked. I'm fine with doing so, but I'd like to know if this is something typical or if I'm not being careful enough.