🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Rate and Profile
Page options
maryrossi
Community Member

Rate and Profile

Hi, I hope someone can give me some feedback and advice on how to make Upwork really work!

I have 30 years' experience as a creative writer, working with my husband who founded/directed an arts mentoring nonprofit that served at risk kids. I've written web copy for about 25 years, grant proposals to raise a lot of money, and then marketing copy on our website to sell our arts mentoring book & software. I've created 2 animated videos, autoresponder emails to go to people who signed up for the 10-day  free software download, and on and on.

Now for the bad part. I've been with Upwork for about 2.5 months. I've had 5 interviews and 5 jobs after submitting 77 proposals! I have a 91% JSS (I learned a LOT with 2 clients that didn't work out - luckily, no bad reviews just no reviews). I have a complete portfolio and - I think - a good profile. Also, I will be more aware of red flags raised during interviews 🙂

I have changed my rate from $65 to $46, but it hasn't helped. I realize you just took a lot of time to read through this, so thank you! If you have a little more time, could you please give me some feedback on why I'm not doing better?

Thank you!

Mary-Helen

8 REPLIES 8
mtngigi
Community Member

Better yet, do a forum search for "Danny Margulies" and you'll read many threads about how bogus he is. Don't bother.

I can't speak to why you're not doing better, but surely you're aware of the astronomical numbers of writers on this site. You have to keep slogging along amid fierce competition. One thing I will suggest - revising your profile title so it doesn't read like a sentence, but simply states what you do. That may help the search algorithm thing.

Thank you Virginia. I'm glad to hear about Danny M as I had almost signed up (but then read a proposal where he starts out "I don't usually look for jobs as I'm so busy, but ..."