🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Refund asked from Client even though the work...
Page options
alma-trischler
Community Member

Refund asked from Client even though the work has been done

Hi! I have just finnished a contract with a client, which means that I have presented the work and on time and now I can see that she has cancelled the contract and asked for a refund of the money I am supposed to get paid. If I am understanding how escrow works, this means I would not get paid for my work if I approve right? How do I make sure to get paid for this work? This client has at the same time as this also started a new contract for a new milestone that I have just started. I have written her an email to ask about it, but Have not gotten any answer yet. I would appreciate all advice I can get regarding this since I am new to Upwork and the whole payment system and want to make sure I do the right thing and don´t end up doing a lot of free work for scammers. Thank you beforehand!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

23 REPLIES 23
lysis10
Community Member

I'm assuming if she started a new contract that this is a mistake, so you should let her know how this will play out. You have to reject the refund reqund request. She'll get an email and can release the escrow and then it will stop there. If she rejects your request, then it goes into mediation. But if this is a mistake, it shouldn't go that far. 

Hi Jennifer! Thank you for your reply, when you say that I should reject the refund request, do you then mean the option "I do not approve this request and want to file a dispute." ? Because this is the only option I have besides approving. I have not chosen it yet, cause it sounds so hostile to file a dispute, in case the client just has made a mistake, seems I have 6 days to reply so will see when she gives me an answer by email, or should I instantly choose the above option?

Thank you!

Yes, you have to use the dispute option or the money goes back to the client.

Thank you!

Alma T wrote: