🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Regarding getting work
Page options
jitenkhatri02
Community Member

Regarding getting work

Hellow,

I am Jiten and I am new to upwork. I have prepared my Upwork profile and I tried to get work of Documentation and technical writing, but somehow I am not getting any response from any clients. Kindly help me or guide me to get my first Upwork. How can I easily approach clients and get work? I am in a need of Job. Please kindly help me.

Thanking you,

Jiten.

4 REPLIES 4
mohammadsaymon
Community Member

Hi, I recommend you to work on your profile, and keep applying to jobs that relevant to your skill. It takes months for most of us to get our first contract, so the same thing could happen to you. There's a lot of freelancers already with more experience and great client feedback. So, it may take a little time, don't be disappointed, keep trying. 

Saymon Hossain
ovidiu_cd
Community Member

Hi Jitten and welcome to UpWork, I would suggest you to pay attention on what exactly the client request and when apply to give him example with similar jobs, tasks you already completed. Also its important to not go for the big projects but instead follow easy tasks and low budget projects, once you get your first feedback things will get easier.

You should follow next tips in order to land your first job:

1. Take some UpWork Tests to prove your qualifications

2. Take small tasks/projects initially

3. Show the client you really know what you are doing by presenting similar projects/tasks

4. Always aim to make your client happy even if you don't get paid as expected in first place

5. Never give up

Best of luck,

Ovi

charles_kozierok
Community Member

The main problem with your profile is that I read the entire thing and when I was done I still had no idea what it is you are trying to do on Upwork. I had to read back up to find the line about writing.

Most clients won't read the whole profile even once.