cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Request for photo of driver's license???

Highlighted
Anita M Member Since: Jul 4, 2017
1 of 17

Hi,

I have been a frelance writer for several years, but am new to Upwork.  

A company I recently sent a proposal to asked me to send them a clear photo of my driver's license as a form of ID before I can work for them.  As a freelance writer that has worked for educational publishing companies, I have never come across this before.  So in this age of ID theft, I just wanted to make sure this was a legitimate type of ID request before I sent it.

Thanks!

Anita

Highlighted
Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
2 of 17

It is a scam. You should report the job.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
3 of 17

Go to the ? icon at the top of your page, and click on get help>choose your user type (freelancer)>select issue>give details (in the R.H. box). Here you report the client and give the url to the job. Then press continue, and then keep going until finally you can submit a request.

I'm hoping though that a mod will see this thread and report the job for you.

In the meantime read as many help pages as you can particularly this thread: https://community.upwork.com/t5/New-to-Upwork/Getting-Started-on-Upwork/m-p/264214#M2460 and the advice about avoiding scams: Tips to Avoid Questionable Jobs

Highlighted
Anita M Member Since: Jul 4, 2017
4 of 17

Thanks!  I will do that.

Highlighted
Avery O Moderator Member Since: Nov 23, 2015
5 of 17

Hi Anita, 

I have sent the job post and the message sent to you by the client to our Marketplace Quality Team. They will review and take actions on the job post and the client's account accordingly. 

-Avery
Untitled
Highlighted
Sarah B Member Since: Aug 22, 2017
6 of 17

Did you get an answer on this? I also am not very comfortable adding my drivers license, it wouldnt even let me submit a proposal without an Id..

Highlighted