🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Requests for interview outside of Upwork
Page options
rachel_collins13
Community Member

Requests for interview outside of Upwork

I'm new to Upwork, and from my understanding there should not be requests to interview or have contact outside of Upwork before hiring. 

I have not received 2 responses to reqeusts, 1 asking me to go to skype and providing a link to interview for the position.  The other asks me to use an app called telegram.

Are these normal requests?  Or am I getting hit with scammers right away?

1 - Your cover letter was reviewed and we selected you to take the interview for the job position! Kindly add the interviewer on Skype.
 **Link**

2 - I was excited to review such a brilliant resume, and I must say your charismatic skills are top-notch and stands out to be what my company wants. It would be an honor to invite you to an online interview with our hiring manager**Edited for Community Guidelines**. He would conduct the online interview with you and discuss this job position in detail with full descriptions, pay scale and benefits, etc. To do this, you’ll need to download the Telegram app on your smartphone, tablet or computer and set up a screen name with Telegram for this interview session, you should add his direct Telegram Username**Edited for Community Guidelines**, after you fully set up the Telegram platform. He will be online in 20 minutes from now, and your work entry code **Edited for Community Guidelines** which would serve as an identification number throughout this online hiring process. A quick response matters in this beneficial position. We look forward to having you on The Team. Regards.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
e99eea8c
Community Member

Wow, this a classic written scam that I've seen in emails, Craigslist, ebay and offer up.  I would totally ignore it and report it if you can.  These scammers are using all kinds of platforms to hook vulnerable folks.  

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9