🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Scam Cilent for Painting Job?
Page options
ryanru
Community Member

Scam Cilent for Painting Job?

Hey Everyone, 

I thought I'd put this here as well as in the Design/Creative section:

I'm really new to Upwork, having just started applying to job this week. I was looking for painting job and got in contact with a cilent who I am now suspicious of. I'm am not sure if I am just being paranoid, but because I'm new and not sure how Upwork really works for protection (if any) I would love some advise.

The cilent wants photographs painted in oil. It looks like easy work.

The red flags are:

Her first message asked if I used Viber and then later said she only contacted her artist's (she is in contact with 8 artist's from around the world) through Viber. I said I wasn't comfortable giving out my number to which she replied "but we won't be able to work if you won't find a way to download the app soon. So we clear..." and she give an unprovoked screenshot of her Viber.

She has the United States as her county but she is contacting me at what would be around 5:00 am her time. Upwork says she is only one hour behind me but it should be more like 9 as I'm in Ireland.

Her English is not that of a native speaker. She does have an Eastern European name so maybe she moved.

Her account has 6 reviews. All from two people and another one that is greyed out.

Actually after writing all this down I think I am now pretty convinced this is a scam. I real would love the work, but I guess that is how people get scammed.

She sent me some images today and is waiting for me to tell her what I think (?). 

ANY advice would be very welcome. Thanks for reading.

6 REPLIES 6
colettelewis
Community Member