🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Scam job postings
Page options
2a699366
Community Member

Scam job postings

Hi, 

I'm new to Upwork and have diligently been submitting about two job proposals a day while looking for work. 

Only thing is, almost every day after carefully crafting a thoughtful proposal tailored to the client's needs, I either get the same generic reply (which happens to be sent on the same diagonally-striped in the corners page) asking for a meeting on either Google Hangouts or Skype -- I reply giving them the benefit of the doubt, that it is definitely easier and preferable to remain within the platforms offered by Upwork, and I will look forward to hearing from them that way. The first one I reported, then I usually get a message saying the job has been withdrawn.

Or, I get a message from Upwork saying the job posting has been withdrawn. 

I am making my best efforts to see it all as a positive opportunity for me to hone my proposal letters and communication, but it seems like 9 out of 10 jobs are scams/ offered by people who have no idea how this works. This is very disheartening. Are there any actual jobs for people new to Upwork? What is the ratio approximately...? ie., one real job per eight to ten posts? I have always heard how great Upwork is and what a step above the other freelance platforms they are, but I'm finding it really tough.

Please don't think I am complaining, I understand how difficult it must be keeping everything fair for everybody, and I have been super impressed with the advice and tutoring offered. Thank you!

I guess because I am new to it all  I am trying to understand the commonality of the "false positives."

If anyone could shed some light on this for me, I would appreciate it.

Thank you in advance.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
hassantarique
Community Member

Hi,

I am also very new the freelancing world. But luckily, I got three projects in my first month itself.