🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Scam or no scam?
Page options
arrtee
Community Member

Scam or no scam?

I am new to Upworks, but am so far not impressed with my first job interaction.

I received an email from **Edited for Community Guidelines** regarding a job possibility from **Edited for Community Guidelines**. It was embedded in a PDF and indicated I was to communicate with **Edited for Community Guidelines** via Telegram, a chat application. At no time did I receive anything from a **Edited for Community Guidelines** email account. Additionally, **Edited for Community Guidelines** noted this was a job directly with **Edited for Community Guidelines**, not a freelance job from Upworks. This entire interaction appears to have been a scam, to harvest personal identifiable information from me. It is reprehensible that a company like Upworks would engage in such a scam.  Has anyone else had this sort of experience?

6 REPLIES 6
colettelewis
Community Member

Randy T wrote:

I am new to Upworks, but am so far not impressed with my first job interaction.

I received an email from **Edited for Community Guidelines** regarding a job possibility from **Edited for Community Guidelines**. It was embedded in a PDF and indicated I was to communicate with **Edited for Community Guidelines** via Telegram, a chat application. At no time did I receive anything from a **Edited for Community Guidelines** email account. Additionally, **Edited for Community Guidelines** noted this was a job directly with **Edited for Community Guidelines**, not a freelance job from Upworks. This entire interaction appears to have been a scam, to harvest personal identifiable information from me. It is reprehensible that a company like Upworks would engage in such a scam.  Has anyone else had this sort of experience?

It's a new scam. But what's with the **Edited for Community Guidelines**? Is she really from Upwork?

**Edited for Community Guidelines** does  not recruit in this way.