🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Scam or not?
Page options
iamworking
Community Member

Scam or not?

Hi,

I am new to Upwork and I have received an invite that has the signs of a scam.

1. Asking me to give a copy of my ID, bank statement, bill etc. **edited for Community Guidelines**

2. Requiring me to purchase products and be reimbursed at the end of the month if I decided to be paid through Upwork. Will prepay me for products purchase if I agree to be paid through Paypal or bank transfer. 

However, the company website looks legit and this is the client history:

• United States
    Evans 03:47 AM
  • 432 jobs posted
    80% hire rate, 1 open job
  • $1M+ total spent
    394 hires, 3 active
  • $24.20/hr avg hourly rate paid
    7,964 hours
  • Member since Jul 30, 2001

Also, there are 57 good feedback on the client history. Thus I am confused. Can someone shed some light? Much appreciated. 

4 REPLIES 4
renata101
Community Member

@Daniel N wrote:

Hi,

I am new to Upwork and I have received an invite that has the signs of a scam.

1. Asking me to give a copy of my ID, bank statement, bill etc. **edited for Community Guidelines**

2. Requiring me to purchase products and be reimbursed at the end of the month if I decided to be paid through Upwork. Will prepay me for products purchase if I agree to be paid through Paypal or bank transfer. 

However, the company website looks legit and this is the client history:

• United States
    Evans 03:47 AM
  • 432 jobs posted
    80% hire rate, 1 open job
  • $1M+ total spent
    394 hires, 3 active
  • $24.20/hr avg hourly rate paid
    7,964 hours
  • Member since Jul 30, 2001

Also, there are 57 good feedback on the client history. Thus I am confused. Can someone shed some light? Much appreciated. 

Hi Daniel,

SCAM!!!!! Yes, stay far away from that one! And I'm sorry to hear that something like that happened to you.