cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Scam??

Highlighted
Angela L Member Since: Apr 20, 2017
1 of 11

I am new to Upwork.  I was thinking this would be a great place to get some side work while I am working a couple of part time jobs.  I was sent a request for Data Entry job, they wanted to have an interview in Google Hangouts.  Before agreeing to the chat, I did look up the company, which seemed legit.  But during the interview they offered full benefits and $25/hr, which seemed a little too good to be true.  They did not ask any personal questions, and did not offer to send any checks in the mail or payment outside of Upwork.

I did a little research on the recruiter's name and found pictures and profiles on linked in, facebook, twitter and instagram, but they didn't mention the company she was recruiting for.

They are asking for a driver's license and proof of address "to verify identity", which I have not sent.

I know I sound ignorant, but is this a scam?  Aslo, if this is a scam, is it acceptable to contact this girl and let her know that her name and photo are being used in this way?

Thank you for any information you can provide.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Kat C Member Since: Jul 11, 2016
BEST ANSWER
2 of 11

Scam.

Plus, data entry is a saturated field that tends to attract the scammers (well, to be honest, many areas of Upwork are saturated). 

You do not need to send anyone your license or any other information outside of Upwork (I've never heard of this being the case in the U.S. unless you're applying for a regular job as a W-2; but, that's separate from Upwork and a TOS violation if they found you on Upwork -- if they find you here, they contract with you here...I won't go into the "opt out" option as it's a different consideration). 

If you have time, search through the threads (using the word "scam" in the search field will bring up many threads on the issue).