🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Scam?
Page options
henderson-jamie
Community Member

Scam?

Hi all.

I'm new to the platform and have had contact regarding a position. It sounds fishy and wanted to feedback.

This is the first time i've used Upwork and my gut feeling is that there is some kind of identity scam going on. I could be wrong. Could i please get your advice on this.

So i received a call from this guy after sending my c.v. through to thier 'hr email address'... No number shows up on my phone from them when they call and he tells me about the role and would i like to work for them outside of upwork. Paypal being an option but i can go through Upwork also if i want. They ask for a c.v. I sent my c.v. to thier HR team and they then send me a link to hosting company email platform to login as they are creating me an 'alternative email to use'. This instantly sounded fishy to me... They also suggested i change my password for it which i didn't. Also fishy and my feeling was it could be a way to capture a password login'.I then have a telephone interview with a guy in India, which was ok but a little basic... After this they send me some documents to sign asking for passport details, passport photo and some other identity details. This again sounded very fishy. Thier reason for for thier own ID verification... Super fishy... Googling thier company also returned a very unprofessional view... Spamming facebook profiles and what looked like unbelievable information. I also phoned thier 'US' office where a lady answered... Not with the company name so i pressed her a little for the business details. It sounded fishy.

What's your views on this as i'm new to this platform?

They have invited me to join a webex for 'training' tomorrow via this alternative email link... Sounds fishy.. Lots of red flags when doing some digging on company.

I haven't sent them any info other than my c.v. which is more or less public online anyway.

Thanks.

6 REPLIES 6
g_vasilevski