🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Scam?
Page options
09bfdab8
Community Member

Scam?

Am I being scammed, received job offer from **Edited for community guidelines**, $140 to proofread 1200 word article, want to send me money to buy laptop for use, and want me to complete first chapter outside of upwork, because of corona virus. Contact has been through skype. I am new to Upwork and this seems fishy though the offer seems legit. Please advise. Thank you for your time.

11 REPLIES 11
iliana-jaimes
Community Member

Hi, I think someone was trying to make a SCAM through UpWork recently: I received a message from a "recruiter" that was asking me to go to Skype for an interview. I went there and it was a written questionnaire. After filling it and sending it, they told me I was selected to work with them as a proofreader, but that for it I needed to work with them OUT of UpWork, that they were going to send me a check to my address for me to buy some equipment to work from it. I am pretty sure that it is a SCAM. So the person that contacted me was Randy Johnson and who interviewed me through skype was Nurlem Michael (nurlemmc@gmail.com)

Iliana J wrote:

Hi, I think someone was trying to make a SCAM through UpWork recently: I received a message from a "recruiter" that was asking me to go to Skype for an interview. I went there and it was a written questionnaire. After filling it and sending it, they told me I was selected to work with them as a proofreader, but that for it I needed to work with them OUT of UpWork, that they were going to send me a check to my address for me to buy some equipment to work from it. I am pretty sure that it is a SCAM. **Edited for community guidelines**

Why would anybody buy a stranger on the internet work equipment? Short answer, nobody does that. It's a scam and they are after your money. 

kempol181
Community Member

There are so many shady clients recently. Be careful.

martina_plaschka
Community Member

Anton M wrote: