🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Scams
Page options
lajuania
Community Member

Scams

I am new to Upwork and have been receiving many offers to work from clients that want to use Skype, Telegram, and other communication platforms to discuss the details of the job. I did get my first client through the platform and everything was done through Upwork.  Now I have one that is trying to send me a check for purchases and office set up.  I have seen this before and believe that it is a scam.  Should I be worried? How do I report this client?  I have read the policy and gone through the online videos on how to use Upwork.  Please advise.  Thank you.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ArjayM

Hi LaJuania,

We truly appreciate you reporting this here. Please note that sharing contact information before a contract has started is against Upwork's Terms of Service and that all communications prior to the contract starting must take place on Upwork. Also, a real client will never ask you to give them money to start working, cash a check for them, work for free, or provide your personal information. 

I have escalated your report to the appropriate team for further review. They will surely check this job and the client then take action accordingly if necessary. We encourage you to let us know if a TOS violation has happened by using the Flag as Inappropriate option throughout the platform. You can learn more about user reporting here.

~ Arjay
Upwork

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16
ArjayM

Hi LaJuania,

We truly appreciate you reporting this here. Please note that sharing contact information before a contract has started is against Upwork's Terms of Service and that all communications prior to the contract starting must take place on Upwork. Also, a real client will never ask you to give them money to start working, cash a check for them, work for free, or provide your personal information.